OSEP Pacific Meeting Held on Guam

Guam CEDDERS served as a key collaborator during the December 7-11, 2015 USDOE Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) Pacific Meeting held at the University of Guam (UOG) and Hilton. Close to 150 education and early intervention teams from the six Pacific entities of American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Guam, Republic of Marshall Islands (RMI), and Republic of Palau (ROP) attended the activities. For more information, check the upcoming December issue of I Tellai.

OSEP Pacific Meeting attendees group photo.
On Monday, December 7th, over 60 entity team members from American Samoa, CNMI, FSM, Guam, RMI, and ROP engaged in the first day of the week-long OSEP Pacific Meeting at the UOG.
Group of people standing with the Governor of Guam.
United States Department of Education (USDOE) Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) staff and OSEP-funded National Center consultants had an opportunity to meet with the Governor of Guam, Honorable Eddie Calvo and Guam Senator Nerissa Underwood during the December 9th evening reception hosted by the Guam Department of Education, Division of Special Education at the Government House. Pictured L-R: Charles Kniseley, OSEP; Luis Romero, IDEA Data Center (IDC); Evelyn Shaw, Early Childhood Technical Assistance (ECTA); Jane Nell Luster, Center for the Integration of IDEA Data (CIID); Genee Norbert, OSEP; Kristin Reedy, National Center for Systemic Improvement (NCSI); Senator Nerissa Underwood; Governor Eddie Calvo; Yolanda Gabriel, Guam DOE, Division of Special Education; Taletha Derrington, NCSI/DaSy; Bill Huennekens, CIID; Anthea Brady, CIID; and Cesar D’Agord, NCSI.
Individual making a speech.
On behalf of the Pacific entities, Arthur Albert (pictured left), FSM Chief of Special Education Division, expresses appreciation of the technical support provided by OSEP and OSEP-funded Centers and Guam CEDDERS during the week-long Pacific meeting. L-R: Arthur Albert standing with his counterparts from CNMI-Suzanne Lizama, RMI-Frank Horuichi, and ROP-Helen Sengebau.